[ Juneteenth Spotlight ] – Black Girl Magic: An Interview With Kyttie Von Toyye, Professional Psychic and Witch

Ellen Avigliano from the DeadHead Reviews team sits down with independent business owner and Psychic practitioner Kyttie Von Toyye to get an intimate look into the spiritual realm of magic.

Amethyst Druze on a witch's altar for a magical ritual among crystals and black candles.

Ellen: Thanks for sitting down to interview with us! We’re so excited to get to know you. Would you start us off by telling us a little bit about yourself and what you do?

Kyttie: My name is Kyttie Von Toyye, and my Psychic and Occult services are primarily based out of Chicago, IL and its surrounding cities/suburbs. I do offer global online services so that everyone has an opportunity to experience a little of Kyttieโ€™s Witchery for themselves.

Ellen: Would you elaborate a little on your Psychic and Occult services? What sort of services for rituals and magic does Kyttie’s Witchery and Apothecary provide?

Kyttie: This is the fun question, Kyttieโ€™s Witchery and Apothecary offers a plethora of magical services including but not limited to spells for : Love, Erotic (libido) , Family and Fertility, Relationships and Marriage, Money, Jealousy/Cheating/Revenge Spells, Loneliness, Career, Commitment, Attraction, Beauty , Clarity, Protection, Power, Cleansing, Depression, Healing, Health, Success, Curses/Hexes, and of course, Spell/Hex Removal. 

Clients often book consultations where we map out exactly the type of spell or ritual they need and then I cast on their behalf. Each and every casting is unique to that individual, and I walk them through everything step by step with photos and videos when appropriate. Updates throughout each ritual and spell are available at the clientsโ€™ request. 

Herbal tea with wild flowers and berry on wooden background - bio food, health and diet concept

Ellen: Wow, that’s awesome! You have a very in depth practice with a wide variety of skills. I’m very curious to know your origin story! When did you first to study magic, practice rituals or read tarot? Was there one person or instance in particular that inspired your journey?

Kyttie: I was always in tune with the universe. From a young age I knew I had gifts but growing up in a severely Christian household there was a lot of opposition. Magic was of the devil, and everything that wasnโ€™t of the bible would send you straight to Hell. I didnโ€™t believe that, and my curiosity only made me want it more. I fed that need to be a part of something bigger through reading everything I could get my hands on. I was introduced to tarot, and then I started the bulk of my magical studies my freshman year of high school via a teacher of mine. 2007 is the year I fully began my practice. I was a sponge and soaked up everything I could learn about witchcraft and astrology. I attended workshops, and the local metaphysics store became my sanctuary. I never felt like I fit in anywhere until I began consulting others in the pagan community for answers and strength. From there Iโ€™ve been a member of a few circles/covens, but for the most part I chose to practice alone. Iโ€™ve been fortunate enough to experience learning under different practices in the magical umbrella from different spiritual leaders and have adopted it into my practices today. 

Ellen: Have there been any readings or experiences with a client that moved you in particular, and really made you realize that this is your calling? 

Kyttie: Well, my client experiences are always 100% confidential, but I can say that when Iโ€™ve been allowed to teach others aspect of my craft it has brought me great joy. Every so often I teach entry level or baby witch classes and help people that are new to the craft set up altars, learn the basics of herbs and crystals, and give them lessons on the history of witchcraft. The way they are so eager to learn from me makes me realize that every bit of persecution Iโ€™ve endured over the years is worth it. Someone is benefitting from it. As long as there is breath in my body I will continue to practice, provide services, and teach because there are people that need it. 

Ellen: I think it’s fabulous that you find fulfillment and satisfaction in teaching others. Building meaningful connections and giving back to your community is a beautiful thing! Would there be any advice you would offer to anyone starting their own journey of exploration in the magical arts?

Kyttie: Read EVERYTHING. Books are your friend. Take notes and ask questions. Donโ€™t just dive into this and start trying to cast spells because youโ€™ve watched a television show or movie. Magic is real and needs to be respected. Seek out groups or practitioners in your area. Compensate them for their time, be committed and serious, and theyโ€™ll open up doors for you. 

Ellen: Aside from ritual arts, what are your other passions, hobbies and interests? And, relatedly, how do those outside explorations inspire or influence your magical practice? 

Kyttie: I love to read; I always have my nose in a book. Iโ€™m also pretty badass in the kitchen. I have a 2-year-old daughter, so Iโ€™m also well versed in the area of childrenโ€™s tv programming. 

My love for reading helps me learn new thing in relation to my craft and business. Reading opens me up to new possibilities or refreshers the knowledge that I already have. I never want to stop learning. When it comes to cooking, my knowledge of herbs doubles for both culinary and witchcraft. Itโ€™s pretty cool. So, I can season your meal or give you warts. (Lol Just Kidding.)

When it comes to my daughter? I learn lots of patience and I implement lots of love into everything I do. I want her to know that she can follow in my footsteps if she wants to. It is her choice. Iโ€™ll be proud and love her either way, witch or not. 

Ellen: The pursuit of knowledge never stops! Very cool to know that you’re always learning and improving your craft. I really love that all of your interests and practices definitely go hand in hand, too. Each of them focuses on creating connection, sharing love, and inspiring others. And what a beautiful sentiment to pass on to your daughter, accepting and loving her for who she is!

Veering back to your comment about a love of books… Here at Dead Head Reviews, we clearly love them too, haha! Do you have a favorite book, author, or movie/show in the Horror, Dark Sci-Fi, Dark Fantasy genres?

Kyttie: YES!!!!! Iโ€™m obsessed with Laurell K. Hamilton and the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Series and Kim Harrisonโ€™s Hollows Series. 

Movies…this is tough. I donโ€™t have a true favorite, but lately me and my daughter have been putting Coraline and the Underworld Series back into our movie night rotations. Who doesnโ€™t think buttons for eyes is downright creepy?

 

Ellen: Relatedly, would you be able to offer any advice for authors, creators, or filmmakers on how they can best and most accurately portray magic, rituals, or other occult practices in their work? 

Kyttie: Consult the people you are trying to mimic instead of portraying poor taste stereotypes. Researching and hiring people to teach you are your friends. Just like the regular world is diverse, so is the occult world. 

Ellen: In that same vein, what is a stereotype about your practice that you frequently see used in media that you would like to dispel or see changed, and better represented on screen?

Kyttie: That I worship the devil and sacrifice kids or something. People need to pick up books. There are some dark things from some groups within the culture, but not everyone does that nor do we take kindly to it. With the golden age of technology, we should be able to easily eradicate myths, but we havenโ€™t been able to bypass stigmas placed on our practices from hundreds of years ago. Google needs to be everyoneโ€™s friend if we are to stop the negative imagery associated with witchcraft and other arts. 

Ellen: So, how does one go about booking you for a session so we can experience the compassion and connection of your craft, first hand?

Kyttie: With the Covid-19 pandemic underway, I have suspended face-to-face meetings, so everything is done remotely. I host sessions on zoom, via email, by phone, or through instant messaging. It is up to the client. 

The bulk of the work is consultation, when it comes to rituals and spell work, I take care of that in private locations.

You can visit me on any of my social platforms! Just take the first step and send me a message. I donโ€™t bite.


Follow Kyttie on Social Media or Book an Appointment for a Reading:
Twitter: @KyttiesWitchery (https://twitter.com/KyttiesWitchery)ย 
Facebook: @KyttiesWitchery (https://www.facebook.com/KyttiesWitchery/)ย 
https://www.kyttieswitcheryandapothecary.com/

Interview by Ellen Avigliano
Twitter: @imaginariumcs
Instagram: @imaginariumarts and @thejackalopeswarren

Published by Dead Head Reviews

Dead Head Reviews is a platform that promotes authors, publishers, film makers, and just about anyone you can think of in the horror community. They mainly focus on the book industry, but if something is horror-related, they want to get their hands on it.

Leave a comment